PDA

View Full Version : Clueless Newb...

Rodagoose
2016.09.10, 12:49 PM
Just got a M03 Sport2 with the McLaren 12C GT3 body. I have no experience with road cars or with micros so this is all new to me. After a few runs on my hardwood floors I have a few questions. I'm sure this has all been discussed before, but I can't seem to find anything with the search feature.

General info: For now there is no racing in my future. I don't know of any clubs around that run mini-z races so it's not a factor. Planning on getting a couple cars and setting up a small track in my house for bad weather/indoor fun.

Tires: Stock tires on a wood floor yields very little traction. I'm basically steering the car with the throttle which is fun but I think more traction would be good. I really like the look of the radial tires but don't want to spend money based on looks alone. Any suggestions for a “general use” tire that should give better traction then stock?

Bearings: I'd like to order a bearing set. I work on small high precision mechanical things in real life and bushings make me break out in hives. Can't imagine that going to a ball bearing set could be bad.

Ball bearing diff: I'm not sure how the stock differential is built but it pulls like crazy during acceleration. Is there a “better” differential available?

Track considerations: I think the RCP Mini-96 track looks awesome. Worth the money? Lanes too narrow? General feedback?

I've also noticed that one side of my front suspension binds up. Seems like the axle carrier thingy gets stuck on the vertical suspension rod thingy. I'm going to have to investigate this.

Thanks in advance to anyone who responds to a newb.

cowboysir
2016.09.10, 04:31 PM
1. General use is great but for the most part racing is where the action is....getting together and running time trails or head to head on a mini 96 is a basic start that you'd appreciate.