PDA

View Full Version : question on wheels

West.F1
2002.08.23, 08:14 PM
i'm fairly new to the sedan scene as i'm more an F1 fanatic.

anyway i have the mini sedan with D2 mercedes DTM body. i have the ball diff, rear roll shock set and 1 degree toe in rod.

i purchased a set of alloy rims for this car and even though they look nice, especially with the visible brake discs, the rims are slightly smaller in diameter and also are more inset that the stock rims that came with the D2 body. With this, i noticed the handling has a more sensitive feel especially during cornering. sensitivity may be good for some but for me it's a big turn off.

anyone else had this problem? the D2 rims are better handling than the smaller diameter alloys and of course the stock rims.

anyone know who makes larger diameter rims for the mini sedans? i take it the larger the diameter the better. or is this thinking wrong?

cheers.

mini-z
2002.08.23, 08:34 PM
Square is the only larger rim maker, the Inch Up series give you a slightly larger diameter.

W-tone
2002.08.24, 01:08 AM
Also, if the alloys are not spesifically made for CLK the offset is wrong and the the whees sit too much inside the wheel wells.
I have 2 sets of GPM alloys, one is for CLK and one is for general use.
If I mount the general use wheels on my CLK they do not look good, can't comment on the handling though.

Mondo
2002.08.24, 03:26 AM
West.F1

Z-Speed wheels for the CLK are awesome.
A little on the costly side, but they ship with foam tyres.
Here's a pic from a previous Thread of my CLK with Z-Speeds fitted.

http://mini-zracer.com/forums/attachment.php?s=&postid=21875

Slonik
2002.08.24, 02:20 PM
Are these as wide as normal CLK wheels by GPM?

Mondo
2002.08.24, 03:15 PM
Originally posted by Slonik
Are these as wide as normal CLK wheels by GPM?

Look at the picture of the rear end..
That says it all.

Yes they are

Slonik
2002.08.24, 03:51 PM