Mini-Z, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer, MR-03, MR-02, MA-010, Forums, News, Pictures, Parts, and Shop - Mini-ZRacer.com
Forums, Mini-Z, MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z, Kyosho MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, MiniZ Hop-Ups, MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Kyosho Mini-Z Parts, Kyosho MiniZ Hop-Ups, Kyosho MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer Hop-Ups, Racer Kyosho Mini-Z Parts
Old 2014.03.30, 11:52 PM   #1
HoJo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Missed Laps

Hi Jesus

I started using the software for our onroad asphalt races this past weekend. The decoder used was from AMBRc.

I noticed that for some racers, the system seemed to intermittently miss counting laps. In your experience, do you know what could have caused this ?

Also, for missed laps, what is your recommended remedial action to take. Add laps on the Race Manager or the Championship Manager ? Is there any difference ?

Thanks for your help on this.
HoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014.03.31, 04:37 PM   #2
zround
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 251
Send a message via Skype™ to zround
Hi,

The missed laps can be due a wrong detection loop installation. You have technical resources on MyLaps website (http://support.mylaps.com/index.php/...knowledge_base). I'm sorry but I cannot help you too much as I've never seen an AMBrc decoder installation . I have worked with logs from decoders and software technical references only.

You can see battery levels and hit counts on the detection events (see zround log window). Check if battery/hits levels are low compared to the transponder with no missled laps.

I use to use the split laps feature on race manager to solve this kind of issues. If a racer has bad laps (usually marked in red) on the lap detail panel you can "split" them into two laps. The effect is ZRound split the lap in two laps and they are saved as they were detected. You can edit the results in the championship manager too in order to compute the qualify/main result but the laps details won't be changed( lap by lap view / html output).

Regards.
zround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014.03.31, 09:01 PM   #3
HoJo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by zround View Post
Hi,

The missed laps can be due a wrong detection loop installation. You have technical resources on MyLaps website (http://support.mylaps.com/index.php/...knowledge_base). I'm sorry but I cannot help you too much as I've never seen an AMBrc decoder installation . I have worked with logs from decoders and software technical references only.

You can see battery levels and hit counts on the detection events (see zround log window). Check if battery/hits levels are low compared to the transponder with no missled laps.

I use to use the split laps feature on race manager to solve this kind of issues. If a racer has bad laps (usually marked in red) on the lap detail panel you can "split" them into two laps. The effect is ZRound split the lap in two laps and they are saved as they were detected. You can edit the results in the championship manager too in order to compute the qualify/main result but the laps details won't be changed( lap by lap view / html output).

Regards.
Hi Jesus,

Sure, will re-assess the detection loop.

In the meantime, it would be great to hear form anyone else that has used ZRound with the AMB decoder and encountered and resolved this issue.

Thanks in advance.
HoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014.11.24, 06:47 AM   #4
tudor_47
Registered User
 
tudor_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 359
We are using zround wiht Lap-z and have started to get a lot of missed laps...
the happen randomly and not for all drivers, it even happens for brand new transponders.
__________________
/Johnny
P28GT(Spektrum,HK ESC,Lipo, Futaba servo) P28V2(MR03VE, Futaba servo) Mini-z F1 (Kyoshos 2.4)

Get a P28

Our new track at MiniZata Were we race My P28
tudor_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014.11.24, 09:38 AM   #5
mleemor60
Curmudgeon & Moderator
 
mleemor60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 2,423
Giro-Z or I-lap transponders? If you can get access to them the I-lap harnesses are far superior to the ones available through the normal sources.
mleemor60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014.11.24, 02:22 PM   #6
tudor_47
Registered User
 
tudor_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 359
actually the transponders are Lap-z transponders.
__________________
/Johnny
P28GT(Spektrum,HK ESC,Lipo, Futaba servo) P28V2(MR03VE, Futaba servo) Mini-z F1 (Kyoshos 2.4)

Get a P28

Our new track at MiniZata Were we race My P28
tudor_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014.11.24, 03:06 PM   #7
zround
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 251
Send a message via Skype™ to zround
If you can't see "detection" messages on the log window, then the bridge is not sending data when the transponders pass.

I have had missed laps issues with LapZ in the past due to:

- Transponders failure. Buying a new one solved the issue
- Bridge placement. Transponders uses an IrDa transceiver which can't work under 2.6V. If batteries are drained and the bridge is placed where the motor requires a lot of power then transponder could fail. Recent layout change?
- Interferences. I only have seen this once. Just the transponder stop working near the bride, even with charged batteries and placing the car on my hands under the bridge. The leds go off and the transponder didn't count. When I retired the car from the bridge area, its led started to flash again ... a mistery. Solved changing the transponder.

Regards.
zround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014.11.25, 06:50 AM   #8
tudor_47
Registered User
 
tudor_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by zround View Post
If you can't see "detection" messages on the log window, then the bridge is not sending data when the transponders pass.

I have had missed laps issues with LapZ in the past due to:

- Transponders failure. Buying a new one solved the issue
- Bridge placement. Transponders uses an IrDa transceiver which can't work under 2.6V. If batteries are drained and the bridge is placed where the motor requires a lot of power then transponder could fail. Recent layout change?
- Interferences. I only have seen this once. Just the transponder stop working near the bride, even with charged batteries and placing the car on my hands under the bridge. The leds go off and the transponder didn't count. When I retired the car from the bridge area, its led started to flash again ... a mistery. Solved changing the transponder.

Regards.
Thanks for your suggestions....

layout has not changed well not recently. It could be that we could move it to a better place, perhaps, but not all cars are experiencing this.
I did have a look at it yesterday and I missed one lap in 78 laps, and that was after a hit in the side and accelerating under bridge, so that might be down to power issue you described, will experiment more
__________________
/Johnny
P28GT(Spektrum,HK ESC,Lipo, Futaba servo) P28V2(MR03VE, Futaba servo) Mini-z F1 (Kyoshos 2.4)

Get a P28

Our new track at MiniZata Were we race My P28
tudor_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014.11.27, 03:32 PM   #9
tudor_47
Registered User
 
tudor_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 359
OK we have now moved the bridge closer to a 90 degree corner so that all should be off throttle passing the bridge , hopefully this will make it easier for the transponders.

The race on the upcoming sunday will tell if it is a success or not. I have also replaced all connections to the transponder with new cables and resoldered the feed cables into the electronics board.
__________________
/Johnny
P28GT(Spektrum,HK ESC,Lipo, Futaba servo) P28V2(MR03VE, Futaba servo) Mini-z F1 (Kyoshos 2.4)

Get a P28

Our new track at MiniZata Were we race My P28
tudor_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014.11.30, 03:12 PM   #10
tudor_47
Registered User
 
tudor_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 359
We had our 5'th F1 race this SUnday and I did not loose one lap, alot happier now!

WE have moved the bridge all the way intothe corner so that all will be off throttle when passing and it looks as if we have now a working system.
__________________
/Johnny
P28GT(Spektrum,HK ESC,Lipo, Futaba servo) P28V2(MR03VE, Futaba servo) Mini-z F1 (Kyoshos 2.4)

Get a P28

Our new track at MiniZata Were we race My P28
tudor_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014.11.30, 06:45 PM   #11
zround
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 251
Send a message via Skype™ to zround
Quote:
Originally Posted by tudor_47 View Post
We had our 5'th F1 race this SUnday and I did not loose one lap, alot happier now!

WE have moved the bridge all the way intothe corner so that all will be off throttle when passing and it looks as if we have now a working system.
)). Excellent, thanks for sharing.
zround is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PN Cup Canadian Championship 2007-2008 J.Mak PN Racing World Cup 31 2007.12.22 10:11 AM
Missed Laps arch2b Core Lap Timing System Support Forum 30 2007.02.26 07:24 PM
AZGT Championship 2007 Dusty Weasle Phoenix Mini-AZ, Phoenix AZ 56 2007.02.13 04:49 PM
Race Results- Dayton's THS, 3/29/04 West.F1 Tracks and GTGs 4 2004.04.11 09:34 PM
barcelona lap times shine for mclaren West.F1 Mini-Z F1 MF-010, MF-015 6 2003.01.23 09:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2011 Mini-ZRacer.com
Mini Inferno Sale - Up to $85 Instant Savings!
Micro-T Hop-Ups
RC18R, M18, Micro RS4, Mini-LST, TamTech-Gear, Minizilla, RC18T, RC18B, RC18MT
shop.tinyrc.com Products

more»
Tiny RC Community News
[03/22/17] MZR was on vacation, didn't... : All kidding aside, the host experienced a bit of a server meltdown last week and efforts to restore the site to a new server took longer than anticipated. The current server is temporary until - more»
[11/25/15] Did You Hear? Our Black... : Hey Racers,
We're getting started a bit early with our Black Friday sale this year.  Generally we're not supporters of retailers opening early on Thanksgiving, but in our case, we're - more»
[06/30/15] shop.tinyrc.com: Have You... : Hey All! Just a quick reminder to everyone that we post all of our shop.tinyrc.com Newletters here on the MZR Forum. If for some reason you miss them in your email inbox, you can always see the - more»
Mini-Z, Mini-Z Racer, MR-02, MA-010
M18, M18T, RC18T, Mini-LST, Mini-T, Micro RS4, XRay, 1/18, 18th scale
XMODS, XMOD, Micro Flight, ZipZaps, ZipZaps SE, Bit Char-G, MicroSizers, TTTT, Plantraco Desktop Rover, SuperSlicks, Digi Q
Mini Inferno, Mini Inferno ST, half EIGHT, 1/16, 16th scale
Epoch, Indoor Racer, 1/43, 43rd scale
E-Savage, eSavage, eZilla, e-Zilla, HPI
Robots, Bots, Bipeds, Wheeled, Manoi, Roomba, NXT, Lego, Hacking
Crawling, Crawlers, Micro, RC, Losi Mini-Rock Crawler, Duratrax Cliff Climber
Kyosho Minium, Caliber 120, Minium Forums
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, Mini Inferno Hop-Ups, Mini Inferno Parts, M18 Hop-Ups, M18 Parts