Mini-Z, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer, MR-03, MR-02, MA-010, Forums, News, Pictures, Parts, and Shop - Mini-ZRacer.com
Forums, Mini-Z, MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z, Kyosho MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, MiniZ Hop-Ups, MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Kyosho Mini-Z Parts, Kyosho MiniZ Hop-Ups, Kyosho MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer Hop-Ups, Racer Kyosho Mini-Z Parts
Old 2018.12.02, 01:25 PM   #1
SuperFly
bitPimp

Front ends in 2019

I'm doing something I've never done before, building a car entirely from scratch. I've always started with some kind of base, like a box stock car, or a used, broken car that just needed revitalizing. This new one is going to be completely assembled from parts.

Main components so far (things I already had on hand):

Das Mikro MHS/ASF brushless board
PN 2.5 chassis
PN Racing Mini-Z MR02/03 98-102mm V4 LCG Motor Mount
All the small parts (servo gears, etc.)
Will probably stick this under a Mosler body

Things I still need to figure out:

Rear end dampening
Front end suspension system

Basically, the big question for me is whether or not a PN double A-Arm setup is worth it ($120?), and what are the currently available alternatives. I've never owned one, and am curious, but it also looks complicated and finicky. Also, confused about whether or not the wide conversion kit is needed, or if that's how the newest version comes?

I've been looking through old threads, and a few people have mentioned the Levitezer as being great, but it seems completely unavailable. Their thread was last updated in 2015, despite their website saying they received their US patent in late 2017.

Also considering PN Racing Mini-Z MR03 Pro Front Lower Arm Set Wide and PN Racing Mini-Z MR03 Alum Caster Upper Arm 1 Camber, but once you throw in knuckles, you're at $75 already anyway. Maybe just the Kyosho hardened arms?