Mini-Z, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer, MR-03, MR-02, MA-010, Forums, News, Pictures, Parts, and Shop - Mini-ZRacer.com
Forums, Mini-Z, MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z, Kyosho MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, MiniZ Hop-Ups, MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Kyosho Mini-Z Parts, Kyosho MiniZ Hop-Ups, Kyosho MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer Hop-Ups, Racer Kyosho Mini-Z Parts
Old 2011.03.31, 11:23 AM   #1
chucelli

a more realistic race category?

I'm still pretty new to the mini-z scene, but it seems that in all the races I've seen and attended, tires choices/combinations is something that is not only allowed, but necessary to even begin to be competitive in this type of racing. From what I've gathered so far, most, if not all choose a very soft compound in the rear (20d) and a harder (30d) compound in the front. IME, this leads to a car who's handling characteristics range from massive understeer to mild understeer, depending on other setup variables like T plates, front springs, wheelbase, etc...
During driving, these cars rarely if ever spin out. This leads to handling characteristics very different than that of a real RWD race car. It seems that there are no consequences to bad throttle input, which results in a relatively safe driving experience. Too much and the car will only push, too little, just means you will go slower. In real track driving, at least from my experience, assessing the amount of rear traction is always in play, since too much throttle around a tight turn can cause you to spin out into the wall and too little throttle or abrupt off-throttle actions around a high speed sweeping turn can also cause your rear to slide out (even worse than first situation). The importance of these variables introduce a certain awareness during cornering that makes things very intense. The same can't be said of mini-z racing at least from what I've seen.