Mini-Z, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer, MR-03, MR-02, MA-010, Forums, News, Pictures, Parts, and Shop - Mini-ZRacer.com
Forums, Mini-Z, MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z, Kyosho MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, MiniZ Hop-Ups, MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Kyosho Mini-Z Parts, Kyosho MiniZ Hop-Ups, Kyosho MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer Hop-Ups, Racer Kyosho Mini-Z Parts
Old 2007.02.17, 08:36 AM   #1
Aurora

'Neutral car' and newbie learning

Hi, all.

I am a newbie, and recently just picked up a mini z AWD for fun. I had started upgrading my car, after playing for weeks on hard wooden floor at home.

At first I followed some more experienced driver advice at LHS to build a fully hop-up-ed car, but I later on realized all this setting and re-setting up really might be just too much for a newbie, and what I essentially need is practice time and time to understand my car.

And that is when I start to build my 'neutral' car, which suppose to be a car better in performance and handling(than stock), and allow me to better my driving skill before more fine tuning my car.

This car mostly run to grippy surface like RCP or carpet, and it is meant to grip(speed) more than drifting. And more often than not, the tracks I experience are rather small and tends to be more technical(narrow width and sharp corners). I will love to have it more nimble in entering and exiting a corner, since I felt that is the only chance I could keep up with other 02 drivers.

My 'neutral' car setup:

Remote: Ko Helios Ex10 with AD band module
Car length: 94mm
Grey/blue body
PCB: AD band board
Shell: modified Mclaren F1 to fit a 94mm body (offset: 2.5F narrow/0R wide) or Xanavi 350Z (offset: 3.5F narrow/2R wide)

All around using:
Kyosho plastic 1.5 deg knuckle
0.3 mm height adjustment spacer

Front:
Atm plastic ball differential (with spacer to reduce slop)
Atm Ti drive shaft
Atm Al toe bar 0 deg
Atm SSG front upper cover
Spring: Kyosho yellow(hard)
Tire: 20 deg narrow flat Atm