Mini-Z, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer, MR-03, MR-02, MA-010, Forums, News, Pictures, Parts, and Shop - Mini-ZRacer.com
Forums, Mini-Z, MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z, Kyosho MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, MiniZ Hop-Ups, MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Kyosho Mini-Z Parts, Kyosho MiniZ Hop-Ups, Kyosho MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer Hop-Ups, Racer Kyosho Mini-Z Parts
Old 2012.04.15, 09:22 AM   #1
arch2b

Send a message via AIM to arch2b
Giro-Z Bridge

i've ordered Giro-Z to replace our Core system and have begun building a new bridge for the system and thought i would share the process in case anyone else was looking for ideas.

i've owner Giro-Z in the past, when they first released to be exact, and lets just say the pre-manufactured bridge is not worth the cost, space it takes up, etc. nearly everyone gets a couple dollars worth of PVC pipe, elbows and T's to make a very simple, functional bridge but being an designer, i would never be satisfied with that so i began planning for a custom build with off the shelf parts that requires a bit of elbow work, patience, and determination. it's not the easy route for sure but i'm going to be far happier with the outcome. it also gave me an excuse to buy some more tools. you can never have enough tools.

materials:
2x2x36 aluminum channel (aluminum is cheaper than PVC) $19.32
1/8x36 steel rod $1.25+/- each
rustoleum protective enamel paint and clear coat $3.98
tamiya mask tape $3.00+/-
1x1/2x doube line clamp and 3/16 fasteners (have not found the fastener i want yet) $5.00+/- box of 50
M4x16 cap head screws $.80 each pair
nylon washers $.56 bag of 4
black cable ties $4.54 bag of 100
1/8 ferrules $1.48 each pair
m4 hex nut $.80 bag of 10
25' cat5e shielded patch cable $12.64

tools:
clamping bench vise $21.00+/-
wire bending jig $11.02
locking pliers $4.00+/-
adjustable wrench (already had this one)
linemans pliers $9.97
plastic bag from store $.5 each (yes, maryland charges you for bags)