Mini-Z, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer, MR-03, MR-02, MA-010, Forums, News, Pictures, Parts, and Shop - Mini-ZRacer.com
Forums, Mini-Z, MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z, Kyosho MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, MiniZ Hop-Ups, MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Kyosho Mini-Z Parts, Kyosho MiniZ Hop-Ups, Kyosho MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer Hop-Ups, Racer Kyosho Mini-Z Parts
Old 2007.07.09, 01:09 PM   #1
idreamz
FWD Junkie

FWD (front wheel drive) chassis

Being a noobish driver I've never been quite happy with the handling of the RWD MiniZ. This became especially apparent when driving on track. While going out of corners 2 things could happen: understeer or, if you push the car too hard, oversteer. Besides the car brakes on rear wheels only on contrary to real cars which causes spinouts on low grip surfaces. It's same thing going into corners, will the car turn-in properly or will it understeer? The end result is that I drove my car at pedestrian speed (feeling that 70% of it's potential is wasted), and I wanted a solution to this.

I always thought AWD would be a solution, I mean it's almost like a real car, both driving and braking on 4 wheels, and everyone knows that AWD cars, no matter make or model, handles well. But this was back in 2005 before I knew of the AWD (besides it was too expensive for me anyway), and so I thought the next best thing would be a FWD.

Searching on the net I soon realized there weren't any FWD builds to take inspiration of, the closest thing were FWD converted xmods, and these were wrong as they have a rear weight bias. Then I'm left with building a FWD chassis on my own, and actually it worked.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BuazzM_ad6A