Mini-Z, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer, MR-03, MR-02, MA-010, Forums, News, Pictures, Parts, and Shop - Mini-ZRacer.com
Forums, Mini-Z, MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z, Kyosho MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, MiniZ Hop-Ups, MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Kyosho Mini-Z Parts, Kyosho MiniZ Hop-Ups, Kyosho MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer Hop-Ups, Racer Kyosho Mini-Z Parts
Old 2011.01.17, 02:20 PM   #1
Deca
Art of the Romantic Drift

Send a message via AIM to Deca
I'm kind of battery clueless.

Which probably isn't good since I've been flying electric RC for several years. I still have no idea if lipos are supposed to be stored charged or empty.

Anyway, I just got my Powerex C9000 Wizard One at our last race. I haven't actually purchased any batteries yet, but figured I'd ask here regarding how to care for them straight away.

What is the best way to utilize the various features of this charger? How should I handle/care for my batteries? Should I pay extra for matched sets or not worry about it? Is the break in function an absolute must before running new batteries? Basically anything that is helpful to know, will make my batteries perform better, and will keep me from prematurely destroying them, I would appreciate knowing
Deca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.01.19, 10:56 AM   #3
Deca
Art of the Romantic Drift

Send a message via AIM to Deca
This helps a bit, but I still have some unanswered questions.. How hard is it to match batteries? Is it worth buying matched sets because you'd need to go through so many normal sets finding batteries that match up, or will you generally be able to match a set between 2 packs of 4 batteries?

Why is it that lower capacity batteries offer more power, and is there any rule of thumb for selecting charge rates based on battery capacity? Should I discharge all my batteries after a session?
Deca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.01.19, 12:05 PM   #4
JuniorWKR
White Knuckle Racing