Mini-Z, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer, MR-03, MR-02, MA-010, Forums, News, Pictures, Parts, and Shop - Mini-ZRacer.com
Forums, Mini-Z, MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z, Kyosho MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, MiniZ Hop-Ups, MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Kyosho Mini-Z Parts, Kyosho MiniZ Hop-Ups, Kyosho MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer Hop-Ups, Racer Kyosho Mini-Z Parts
Old 2005.09.12, 10:17 AM   #1
baldrick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 36
Core - MPH Driver Stats

The Core System doesn’t appear to report the MPH correctly in the Driver Stats screen. Using a stock MR02 on a RCP 2 x wide track it reports a speed of typically 1.75mph. The factor used in the “tracks.db” for a 2 x wide RCP is 1.108 and I don’t think it is correct and below is my calculation for correction.

Measuring the centre-line around my 2 x RCP wide track is 57.75 feet and with the stock MR02 my average lap time was 6.554 seconds (Yeah, I know I’m crap but that’s a different story!)

So, 57.75 ft / 6.554 sec = 8.81 ft/sec, x 60 = 525.7 ft/min, x 60 = 31,721 ft/hr. There’s 5,280 feet in a mile. Therefore 31,721 / 5,280 = 6.008mph.

Core Factor 1.108 : Core speed 1.748 : Actual Speed 6.008

Therefore the correct factor is = 1.108 / 1.748 x 6.008 = 3.808

If you want to correct it, open the track.db with note-pad and change the 1.108 to 3.808. Also if you want to see the scale speed, change the factor to 106.624 which is 3.808 x 28

A 6.554 second lap on a 2 x wide track would show an actual speed of 6.01mph and scale speed of 168.22mph.

Always save a copy of your original track.db file before you change anything.

Keith…
baldrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005.09.12, 12:04 PM   #2
CoreAnalog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by baldrick
The Core System doesn’t appear to report the MPH correctly in the Driver Stats screen. Using a stock MR02 on a RCP 2 x wide track it reports a speed of typically 1.75mph. The factor used in the “tracks.db” for a 2 x wide RCP is 1.108 and I don’t think it is correct and below is my calculation for correction.

Measuring the centre-line around my 2 x RCP wide track is 57.75 feet and with the stock MR02 my average lap time was 6.554 seconds (Yeah, I know I’m crap but that’s a different story!)

So, 57.75 ft / 6.554 sec = 8.81 ft/sec, x 60 = 525.7 ft/min, x 60 = 31,721 ft/hr. There’s 5,280 feet in a mile. Therefore 31,721 / 5,280 = 6.008mph.

Core Factor 1.108 : Core speed 1.748 : Actual Speed 6.008

Therefore the correct factor is = 1.108 / 1.748 x 6.008 = 3.808

If you want to correct it, open the track.db with note-pad and change the 1.108 to 3.808. Also if you want to see the scale speed, change the factor to 106.624 which is 3.808 x 28

A 6.554 second lap on a 2 x wide track would show an actual speed of 6.01mph and scale speed of 168.22mph.

Always save a copy of your original track.db file before you change anything.

Keith…
The software takes into account the size of the tile. So, the units that you should put into the box are the number of tiles. That way, you just have to count how many tiles you have around the track and enter that number into the box.

--Core
CoreAnalog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005.09.12, 12:54 PM   #3
baldrick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 36
What Box

What Box ???

Oh, crap you mean that little box with no title - next to “Speed Trap”, I should’ve guessed it was important.

So I have changed the value to 40 and got a much closer mph as expect.

Great system thanks for your reply.

Keith…
baldrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005.09.12, 04:31 PM   #4
gasman1
Registered User
 
gasman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Reading,PA.
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to gasman1
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoreAnalog
The software takes into account the size of the tile. So, the units that you should put into the box are the number of tiles. That way, you just have to count how many tiles you have around the track and enter that number into the box.

--Core
what size tiles does it take into account for? Wide L or Mini96? I have a Mini96 with an expansion set but naot any of the canned tracks you have on the pick list.

What do you suggest? Just count the tiles or multiply it by some factor?
My centerline is 84 tiles. Is that the number I should enter? If not. What?
__________________
http://www.dorksonwheels com
gasman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005.09.12, 05:21 PM   #5
baldrick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by gasman1
what size tiles does it take into account for? Wide L or Mini96? I have a Mini96 with an expansion set but naot any of the canned tracks you have on the pick list.

What do you suggest? Just count the tiles or multiply it by some factor?
My centerline is 84 tiles. Is that the number I should enter? If not. What?
If you have 84 tiles on the centre line (total tiles 168) selecting any Mini96 track in Core will calculate at 30cm tile length, it doesn't matter what the image looks like! Just enter the number 84 in the little box which is next to "Speed Trap" on the Setup page.

You can create your own image of your track, if you want to, and add it to the "Tracks" folder.

If I understand correctly, the other way is to measure your centre line, select "Custom" as the track and put the length in the little box.

Keith...
baldrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005.09.13, 07:59 AM   #6
Twenty-Se7en
Rockin Da Z
 
Twenty-Se7en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NL, Canada
Posts: 3,117
Send a message via MSN to Twenty-Se7en
thanks for the info... that could make the core system's speed estimator good for any type of track, not just RCPs
__________________
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
||| There comes a time in every hobbist's life when they are forced to remorgage their house. |||
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Twenty-Se7en is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005.09.15, 09:51 PM   #7
arch2b
Moderator
 
arch2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 31,519
Send a message via AIM to arch2b
do you enter teh number of tiles in that box or distance in feet?
arch2b is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2005.09.15, 10:30 PM   #8
baldrick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 36
Tile Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by arch2b
do you enter teh number of tiles in that box or distance in feet?
My understanding is that if you select an RCP track you would then enter the tile quantity. A 2 x Wide L tracks is a total of 80 tiles but 2 next to each other, so you enter 40 into the box. The core software calculates 40 x 50cm as the length = 2000cm = 65.6 feet.

It's not quite right because you don't get 50cm lengths in the turns. I measured the actual length around the center line of my track and it is 57.75 feet. So entering 40 tiles in the box (65.5 feet) will show a higher than actual mph.

The other way is to select custom and then enter the length in feet into the box. The Core software then calculates mph more acurately.

I'm going to stick with selecting the RCP track, because I like to see the little picture of my track! and it's probably what every one else will do.

I think a nice additional feature would be to have a check-box to select actual or scale speed.

Keith...
baldrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005.09.15, 10:46 PM   #9
arch2b
Moderator
 
arch2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 31,519
Send a message via AIM to arch2b
thanks for the quick answer. my track is custom ofcourse and 64.7 feet in lenght on the centerline. i never counted the tiles...
arch2b is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2006.09.18, 08:51 AM   #10
leonen
Scuderia Leone Racing
 
leonen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 477
Send a message via MSN to leonen
oK.. SO iF WE DON'T use RCP, and use our own custom track, we have to enter en the Setup screen in Core, the distance of the track in feet.

And so in the tracks.db file the scale factor should remain 0.682 ? for ALL custom tracks?

Too bad you guys don't use the metric system.

But could CORE be able to use it ? If I change the scale factor to 0,2777 - cause that would be the meters/sec when traveling at 1 km/h - and enter the distance of the track in meters , would that give me the real speed based on km/h ?

1 km/h = 1000 meters / hour
1000 / 60 = 16,666 meters / min
16,666 / 60 = 0,2777 meters / sec

So 1 km/h = 0,277 meters/sec

Am I correct?
__________________
Néstor Leone
Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Http://www CircuitoZur.com.ar/
Http://www.ScuderiaLeoneRacing com.ar/
leonen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006.09.18, 09:07 AM   #11
arch2b
Moderator
 
arch2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 31,519
Send a message via AIM to arch2b
i've never been able to get accurate numbers from this feature
arch2b is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2006.09.18, 09:32 AM   #12
briankstan
HFAY Director
 
briankstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Jordan, Utah
Posts: 6,422
It's more of an approximation. to get acutual #'s you would actually have to calculate the line that is driven. this is almost impossible because the line is usually differnt from lap to lap (I wish I could drive the same line over and over)

take it for what it is.... a close estimate
__________________
--Salt Lake Mini-Z---HFAY---MZR Gallery--
briankstan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2006.09.18, 10:33 AM   #13
leonen
Scuderia Leone Racing
 
leonen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 477
Send a message via MSN to leonen
Quote:
Originally Posted by briankstan
It's more of an approximation. to get acutual #'s you would actually have to calculate the line that is driven. this is almost impossible because the line is usually differnt from lap to lap (I wish I could drive the same line over and over)

take it for what it is.... a close estimate
Ok guys.... but do you have an idea of how it works?

Even in 1:1 it's not accurate cause the lenght of tracks is not the lenght of the real line driven by the drivers.

We agree that the the lenght given for a track is the middle line. Then each driver tries to make the shortest line posible. So what we are looking for in this feature is an aprox of the speed travelled.

Scale speed is also a joke you guys. 10 mph at 1:28th would be 280 mph at 1:1 ??? Come on!!!

Using our old software we used to make between 10+ and 13+ km/h. That'd be between 280km/h and 364 km/h!!!!!! no comparison with Real life right?

I guess we just want to get an aproximate of the speed we travel per lap. That's All.-

Anyway, my question was oriented towards getting results in the metric system. no feet or miles.... using CORE
__________________
Néstor Leone
Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Http://www CircuitoZur.com.ar/
Http://www.ScuderiaLeoneRacing com.ar/

Last edited by leonen; 2006.09.18 at 10:46 AM.
leonen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006.09.18, 10:35 AM   #14
arch2b
Moderator
 
arch2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 31,519
Send a message via AIM to arch2b
i never seem to get a close approximation...

i would hope core would dupport metric. most of the world uses it.
arch2b is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core Analog Recently Asked Questions arch2b Core Analog 1 2008.03.18 01:36 PM
Core Installation Options and Startup Problems Jonny Core Lap Timing System Support Forum 8 2008.03.04 09:45 PM
PN Cup Canadian Championship 2007-2008 J.Mak PN Racing World Cup 31 2007.12.22 10:11 AM
Attn: CORE ->linking multiple core systems together? Sinister_Y Core Lap Timing System Support Forum 5 2006.08.06 12:40 AM
Adding Audio Files to Core Timing Software briankstan Core Lap Timing System Support Forum 1 2006.07.05 12:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2011 Mini-ZRacer.com
Mini Inferno Sale - Up to $85 Instant Savings!
Micro-T Hop-Ups
RC18R, M18, Micro RS4, Mini-LST, TamTech-Gear, Minizilla, RC18T, RC18B, RC18MT
shop.tinyrc.com Products

more»
Tiny RC Community News
[09/23/14] shop.tinyrc.com: New Atomic,... : Hey Racers!
It's been a busy week here at shop.tinyrc.com.  Plenty of new and re-order products have been rolling in along with some - more»
[11/27/13] shop.tinyrc.com: Holiday... : Hi Racers,
Ready...Set...Save this holiday season!  We're offering deep discounts on all varieties of Kyosho ReadySets, Body & Chassis Sets, Chassis Sets and Chassis & Transmitter - more»
[11/01/12] shop.tinyrc.com: Halloween... : Although Halloween has passed, the ghost of our sale lingers on (but only through Sunday, November 4th). Check out our latest Newsletter and get yourself a new Kyosho MB-010 Buggy for under $200! - more»
Mini-Z, Mini-Z Racer, MR-02, MA-010
M18, M18T, RC18T, Mini-LST, Mini-T, Micro RS4, XRay, 1/18, 18th scale
XMODS, XMOD, Micro Flight, ZipZaps, ZipZaps SE, Bit Char-G, MicroSizers, TTTT, Plantraco Desktop Rover, SuperSlicks, Digi Q
Mini Inferno, Mini Inferno ST, half EIGHT, 1/16, 16th scale
Epoch, Indoor Racer, 1/43, 43rd scale
E-Savage, eSavage, eZilla, e-Zilla, HPI
Robots, Bots, Bipeds, Wheeled, Manoi, Roomba, NXT, Lego, Hacking
Crawling, Crawlers, Micro, RC, Losi Mini-Rock Crawler, Duratrax Cliff Climber
Kyosho Minium, Caliber 120, Minium Forums
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, Mini Inferno Hop-Ups, Mini Inferno Parts, M18 Hop-Ups, M18 Parts