Mini-Z, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer, MR-03, MR-02, MA-010, Forums, News, Pictures, Parts, and Shop - Mini-ZRacer.com
Forums, Mini-Z, MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z, Kyosho MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, MiniZ Hop-Ups, MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Kyosho Mini-Z Parts, Kyosho MiniZ Hop-Ups, Kyosho MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer Hop-Ups, Racer Kyosho Mini-Z Parts
Old 2011.10.15, 07:57 AM   #1
LED

PN racinging gimbaled motor mount slop fix.

Hi all.

Last week I traded a PN motor mount I wasn't using with the gimbaled motor mount. I did some reading before and saw that alot of people where complaining about the amount of slop in it. Being a mechanical designer myself I tought I take a look at it myself if I ever got my hands on one. Wich I did last week.

So I assembled it and I find the slop to be horrible. The amount of play on the rear axle was not to be ignored and I just could not see myself putting it on my car the way it was. To be correct, this was a second hand mount and I dont know how much time it spend on the track before. The guy I got it from simply said I dont use it because I can't get it work properly.

Anyway, I took a look at it and found that the slop is coming from the screw going through the mount and the T part. Both radial as axial slop.
I found in other threads here on the forum that some people tried to fill the holes with glue, others filed down the sides of the T to put a shim in between. But none of them ever stated that it worked good enough. So I'm thinking the best way to get rid of both slops at the same time: a bolt instead of the pin.

I got myself a set of M2 thread taps. Sadly enough the ones I got are not long enough to go through the T-piece in one time. So that obligated me to drill a hole in the middle and tap from both sides. Hoping that if I run a bolt trough it the threads would match and the bolt would go through.
Sadly and not surprisingly, it didnt.
T piece:

I know the hole looks horrible