Mini-Z, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer, MR-03, MR-02, MA-010, Forums, News, Pictures, Parts, and Shop - Mini-ZRacer.com
Forums, Mini-Z, MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z, Kyosho MiniZ, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, MiniZ Hop-Ups, MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Kyosho Mini-Z Parts, Kyosho MiniZ Hop-Ups, Kyosho MiniZ Parts, Kyosho Mini-Z Racer Hop-Ups, Racer Kyosho Mini-Z Parts

Go Back   Mini-ZRacer.com Forums > Manufacturers > ZRound

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2011.12.11, 07:58 AM   #1
NoBrainer
Registered User
 
NoBrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 562
Can't connect Lap-Z via USB adapter

I have a little problem.

I don't have a COM port on my laptop, so I bought a USB - COM port adapter.
I'm using v1.11 beta 4 of you're software.
I have installed the drivers for the USB adapter and set the COM port to COM2.

I start up ZRound with no error.
Start up the config and choose Lap-Z.
Set the port to COM2 but I can't connect to the Lap-Z.


Do you have any tips for me??


EDIT:
Now the config won't start up at all.
hm...
Maybe reinstall the ZRound would help?


EDIT2:
Sorry, forgot to tell I use Win7 32-bit
__________________
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity

Last edited by NoBrainer; 2011.12.11 at 08:33 AM.
NoBrainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.11, 08:54 AM   #2
saddad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
we had the same set up (now use robitronics) & found it needed to be on com1 check the serial addaptor with something else if possible (ours died so we bought a new system as we needed more transponders as well) also try to find an older zround version as i'm not sure if the newer ones suport lapz (try lapz nitro http://lapz.com/software.htm) see if that works hope this helps
saddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.11, 09:22 AM   #3
NoBrainer
Registered User
 
NoBrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 562
Thanks for reply.
I haven't tried COM1, but a lot of others.
I have tried several different drivers for my USB adapter, but with no luck.

Lap-Z Nitro v1.32 is no different. Stil can't connect.

We used the same adapter on a different computer an got the Lap-Z Nitro v1.32 to work all yesterday and this morning. But I want to use ZRound.

Going to try COM1 if I can manage.


EDIT:
Don't work with COM1 ether.
Same story for Lap-Z Nitro and ZRound.
Must be my laptop, since the other laptop made it work. We did not test ZRound on that one.
__________________
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity

Last edited by NoBrainer; 2011.12.11 at 09:40 AM.
NoBrainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.11, 11:09 AM   #4
saddad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
the addaptor driver we used was http://ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm which we got from the flipside racing site so may be worth trying http://flipsideracing.org/projects/fslapcounter/
saddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.11, 01:04 PM   #5
LED
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 520
Do you see the comport in the device manager? That is the comport you need to use in zround. You also need to type in COM3 if you want that port, and not just 3.
Zround works perfectly with lapz, also the latest version.
What could be an issu, i had a couple of times last past weeks, if you first startup zround and then your lapz it wont find it. Make sure your lapz bridge is up and running (the led should be flashin) before you start zround.
LED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.11, 02:28 PM   #6
NoBrainer
Registered User
 
NoBrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by LED View Post
Do you see the comport in the device manager? That is the comport you need to use in zround. You also need to type in COM3 if you want that port, and not just 3.
Zround works perfectly with lapz, also the latest version.
What could be an issu, i had a couple of times last past weeks, if you first startup zround and then your lapz it wont find it. Make sure your lapz bridge is up and running (the led should be flashin) before you start zround.
WTF?

Do I have to type COM3??
That I did not test.

Will do that right away!!


EDIT:
nah... typed in COM1 as that is what the port is, and ZRound complains that "COM1 is not an integer", so I guess you can't type anything but numbers in on the 1.11 beta 4.

But thanks for reply
__________________
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity

Last edited by NoBrainer; 2011.12.11 at 02:34 PM.
NoBrainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.11, 03:10 PM   #7
zround
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 250
Send a message via Skype™ to zround
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoBrainer View Post
WTF?

Do I have to type COM3??
That I did not test.

Will do that right away!!


EDIT:
nah... typed in COM1 as that is what the port is, and ZRound complains that "COM1 is not an integer", so I guess you can't type anything but numbers in on the 1.11 beta 4.

But thanks for reply
All ZRound versions support LapZ lapcounter but you must have installed LapZ Nitro also.

I use the software interfase included with LapZ Nitro. It needs the port number (1, 2, ...) instead of port name (com1, com2, ...) so you must enter a number.

As Led said, check the device manager to see what virtual com port your system assigns to the USB conversor. I use a Conceptronic adapter on my laptop; here you have how it is seen in the device manager:


It is COM18, so I should use "18" port number to connect to LapZ.

I hope it helps. Regards,

Jesús M. Broceño
http://www.zround.com
zround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.11, 06:04 PM   #8
NoBrainer
Registered User
 
NoBrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by zround View Post
All ZRound versions support LapZ lapcounter but you must have installed LapZ Nitro also.

I use the software interfase included with LapZ Nitro. It needs the port number (1, 2, ...) instead of port name (com1, com2, ...) so you must enter a number.
hm... I think I have missed this.
Thought I read the read me file, but I must have missed something.
I have Lap-Z Nitro installed, but I do I have to have it running?

I can't remember that I have seen a software interface with Lap-Z Nitro.
Must have missed something then.

I must investigate some more I think

Thanks for reply!
__________________
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity
NoBrainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.11, 07:57 PM   #9
zround
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 250
Send a message via Skype™ to zround
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoBrainer View Post
hm... I think I have missed this.
Thought I read the read me file, but I must have missed something.
I have Lap-Z Nitro installed, but I do I have to have it running?
Thanks for reply!
No, you have not to have running Nitro but you must install it because ZRound uses a library (software component) installed by LapZ Nitro.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoBrainer View Post
I can't remember that I have seen a software interface with Lap-Z Nitro.
Must have missed something then.
I must investigate some more I think

Thanks for reply!
The software component is installed during LapZ Nitro setup. it is not a "visible" component but a Windows COM Object.

Follow these steps:
1) Install LapZ Nitro and forget it ))
2) Install ZRound Suite
3) Go to Device Manager and see what com port NUMBER uses your USB adapter
4) Setup ZRound to use that port number on the LapZ Configuration Page.

Regards,

Jesús M. Broceño
http://www.zround.com
zround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.12, 02:18 AM   #10
LED
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 520
Did you change the com port then? I tought you needed to type COM1 ? Or is that only for the robitronic?

Didn't know about the lapz nitro either
LED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.12, 03:55 AM   #11
NoBrainer
Registered User
 
NoBrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 562
Can't check anymore. Since I just borrowed the Lap-Z

But what I did was install, just for later, is that I installed ZRound 1.11 beta 2 first, then upgraded it to v1.11 beta 4 without installing Lap-Z Nitro.
Then I tried to run it several times.
It did not work, so I tried to install Lap-Z Nitro.

It might then be the libraries is wrong.

I might uninstall ZRound and Lap-Z Nitro and then install it in the right way like you describe. It might work then.


But I have bought a Robitronic now, since I don't own the Lap-Z.
Won't be getting it until christmas or later.
Is there any special installation instruction for Robitronic?
__________________
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity
NoBrainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.19, 11:11 AM   #12
NoBrainer
Registered User
 
NoBrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 562
Oki, this week I get to borrow a Lap-Z again and I probably get my own Robitronic.

I will try do unistall ZRound and Lap-Z Nitro then do this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by zround View Post
Follow these steps:
1) Install LapZ Nitro and forget it ))
2) Install ZRound Suite
3) Go to Device Manager and see what com port NUMBER uses your USB adapter
4) Setup ZRound to use that port number on the LapZ Configuration Page.
Hope it will work this time.
I think I have to check if Lap-Z Nitro works before I test ZRound.
I just love all the possibilities I get with ZRound.
I might even get a longer USB - RS232 adapter, so I don't need the both a short USB adapter and the serial cable for the Lap-Z or Robitronic.


Whish me luck....

PS: If you got any other tips, it's appreciated
__________________
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity
NoBrainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.19, 01:19 PM   #13
LED
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 520
Well there is 1 bug in zround. If you do a practice, then a race, and then a practice again the drivers do not get registered automaticl in the last practice. You have to restart zround in order for that to happen.

Other then that, play around with all the settings in the manager if you plan to use it.

Have fun.
LED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.19, 03:22 PM   #14
zround
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 250
Send a message via Skype™ to zround
Quote:
Originally Posted by LED View Post
Well there is 1 bug in zround. If you do a practice, then a race, and then a practice again the drivers do not get registered automaticl in the last practice. You have to restart zround in order for that to happen.

Other then that, play around with all the settings in the manager if you plan to use it.

Have fun.
First, I wish you luck NoBrainer

Second, It is not a bug but a feature . Next release will include a "new" button to discard the current session info (race or training). It will allow you to start from scratch without restaring the application.

Jesús Broceño.
http://www.zround.com

PS: Robitronic setting needs the full comport name because I work directly with the comport. Lapz works in a different way.
zround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011.12.20, 08:42 AM   #15
NoBrainer
Registered User
 
NoBrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by zround View Post
First, I wish you luck NoBrainer
Thanks, hope I don't need it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by zround View Post
PS: Robitronic setting needs the full comport name because I work directly with the comport. Lapz works in a different way.
But if you set it correct the first time on both Lap-Z and Robitronic, it gets saved in the config and you don't have to set it each time you start ZRound?

As I'm going to set what com port my USB are supposed to use. This is also in my living room, so I have to put it all away when I get guests.

So for Lap-Z I use ex "18", but for Robitronic I use "COM18" as port names inside ZRound, right?
__________________
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity
NoBrainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inexpensive ICS USB Adapter? Ancient Artist Transmitters, Receivers and Crystals 5 2011.09.09 11:55 AM
USB Driver for Kyosho IC Lap Counter Sinister_Y Lap Timing Systems and Software 2 2010.02.15 05:03 PM
FS: KO Propo ICS USB Adapter #61018 Old Crow Mini-Z Marketplace 4 2008.09.24 05:03 PM
USB to serial adapter Sinister_Y Technicalrp 2 2008.01.29 01:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2011 Mini-ZRacer.com
Mini Inferno Sale - Up to $85 Instant Savings!
Micro-T Hop-Ups
RC18R, M18, Micro RS4, Mini-LST, TamTech-Gear, Minizilla, RC18T, RC18B, RC18MT
shop.tinyrc.com Products

more»
Tiny RC Community News
[03/22/17] MZR was on vacation, didn't... : All kidding aside, the host experienced a bit of a server meltdown last week and efforts to restore the site to a new server took longer than anticipated. The current server is temporary until - more»
[11/25/15] Did You Hear? Our Black... : Hey Racers,
We're getting started a bit early with our Black Friday sale this year.  Generally we're not supporters of retailers opening early on Thanksgiving, but in our case, we're - more»
[06/30/15] shop.tinyrc.com: Have You... : Hey All! Just a quick reminder to everyone that we post all of our shop.tinyrc.com Newletters here on the MZR Forum. If for some reason you miss them in your email inbox, you can always see the - more»
Mini-Z, Mini-Z Racer, MR-02, MA-010
M18, M18T, RC18T, Mini-LST, Mini-T, Micro RS4, XRay, 1/18, 18th scale
XMODS, XMOD, Micro Flight, ZipZaps, ZipZaps SE, Bit Char-G, MicroSizers, TTTT, Plantraco Desktop Rover, SuperSlicks, Digi Q
Mini Inferno, Mini Inferno ST, half EIGHT, 1/16, 16th scale
Epoch, Indoor Racer, 1/43, 43rd scale
E-Savage, eSavage, eZilla, e-Zilla, HPI
Robots, Bots, Bipeds, Wheeled, Manoi, Roomba, NXT, Lego, Hacking
Crawling, Crawlers, Micro, RC, Losi Mini-Rock Crawler, Duratrax Cliff Climber
Kyosho Minium, Caliber 120, Minium Forums
Mini-Z Hop-Ups, Mini-Z Parts, Mini Inferno Hop-Ups, Mini Inferno Parts, M18 Hop-Ups, M18 Parts